Finding Joy…

There are times in my life when I find joy elusive. My life is incredibly fulfilling. I have everything I need. But some days its just hard to feel joyful. When I have days like that I pray and I think about things that make me feel joy. I wanted to share just a few of the things that bring me unspeakable joy in my life.

The beauty of this momma duck and her babies.  She made her next just feet away from some of the swiftest rapids I have ever witnessed.  I was in awe of her.

The beauty of this momma duck and her babies. She made her nest just feet away from some of the swiftest rapids I have ever witnessed. I was in awe of her.

The pure joy of children.  It's contagious!

The pure joy of children. It’s contagious!

This pancake cactus.  I LOVE it!

This pancake cactus. I LOVE it!

Children being silly.

Children being silly.

Baby toes.

Baby toes.


Hummingbird bootys.  Is that not the cutest?

Hummingbird bootys. Is that not the cutest?

Mr. T, MY guitar hero.  :)

Mr. T, MY guitar hero. 🙂

Thing in nature that amaze me like these trap door spider tunnels.

Thing in nature that amaze me like these trap door spider tunnels.

Children discovering and learning.  The pride they feel in their accomplishments.

Children discovering and learning. The pride they feel in their accomplishments.

Gorgeous Oklahoma skies.

Gorgeous Oklahoma skies.

Hugs...

Hugs…

And one of my favorites, dancing in the rain.  Growing up my sister and I would get our umbrellas and sing and dance in the rain.  I used to do it with my cousin too.  And I still enjoy dancing in the rain today.

And one of my favorites, dancing in the rain. Growing up my sister and I would get our umbrellas and sing and dance in the rain. I used to do it with my cousin too. And I still enjoy dancing in the rain today.

This morning I was feeling unusually down for a number of reasons, none of which were a very big deal. I just had a sadness that I couldn’t shake. Any time I see kids that I keep or used to keep, it makes my heart leap and brings me unexplainable joy. There is a teenage boy that I kept until he went to preschool, so he’s been gone for maybe 12 years. Anyway, today when I was feeling sad, I saw him, and when his eyes met mine, my heart lept its usual leap and then he got a smile on his face that made me feel a foot taller. He quickly realized and, as a typical teenage boy, tried to stop smiling because he was embarrassed by his show of emotion. But that look on his face when he saw me is why I do the job I do today. If nothing else goes right in this world, I KNOW I am making an impact on these kids. When the day seems too hard, I think of kids like that and I remember that it’s all worth it and I wouldn’t trade this life for anything. So remember that joy can be found in tiny moments and small pleasures. I know God intended for that to happen today. I drove home through downtown where there are about six stop lights in a row really close together, and as I approached each one, it turned green right before I got there. I knew that it was a wink from God telling me He was there and He loves me.

What small things bring joy to you?

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

